Link – Lentil Tacos Recipe

January 13, 2013 at 10:47 pm Leave a comment

Lentil Tacos recipe from Budget Bytes

Last semester was my first semester as a full-time high school teacher, and while I’ve grown a lot professionally since August, my diet has gone into the toilet due to overworking myself. We pretty much lived on takeout and frozen meals from August through December. My new goal is to try at least one new recipe a week. This is the one I made tonight.

I liked this recipe because it was easy (the most challenging step is slicing an avocado), vegetarian/vegan, healthy, and cheap. It turned out well – BF especially loved it, and it reminded me of the tacos my mom used to make up growing up, with a pound of ground beef and a yellow seasoning packet. However, it took a LOT of very simple steps (cooking lentils, sautéing onions, toasting tortillas….) so this wasn’t a quick meal. It did leave us with plenty of leftovers – possibly too much, in fact, so I will probably half the filling next time. Also, I used half as much cayenne, used store-bought salsa instead of homemade pico, substituted TJ’s cilantro/chive yogurt dipfor sour cream, only one avocado, and would double the salt next time.

Entry filed under: lentils, links, recipes, tomatoes, vegan, vegetarian.

Oven-baked Hashbrowns Link: Avocado Pasta Sauce Recipe

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

This is a cooking blog by someone who is not particularly good at cooking. I'm a lazy person who aspires to make simple, awesome, healthy food at home.

Archives