Link: Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe

July 18, 2012 at 11:24 pm Leave a comment

Link: Fettuccine Alfredo Recipe

BF and I officially moved in together today, and I wanted to make something special to celebrate. He’s a vegetarian, and I love pasta, so fettuccine alfredo seemed like a good celebratory, indulgent meal.

I had never made real alfredo sauce before, so I found this recipe online. It actually turned out perfectly, even though it was my first try. It’s super easy – you melt butter, stir in cream, heat to a simmer, then toss that with pasta, then toss it with grated Parmesan. I was skeptical when I mixed the pasta and sauce together and appeared to have way too much liquid, but once I added the cheese, it was the perfect consistency.

I only made two changes: I added a clove of minced garlic to the butter while it was melting, and I used regular durum fettuccine (because the grocery store didn’t have any whole wheat noodles, which would have been my first choice). I served this with a side of baked zucchini and some sparkling riesling. We intended to have tiramisu for dessert, but had absolutely no room left! It was a rich, filling, elegant meal that was definitely fitting for celebrating our first night in our new, shared home.

Entry filed under: cheese, links, pasta, recipes, vegetarian.

Rice and Lentils Mac, Cheese, Spinach, & Peas

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

This is a cooking blog by someone who is not particularly good at cooking. I'm a lazy person who aspires to make simple, awesome, healthy food at home.

Archives


