Spinach Potato Casserole

June 21, 2012 at 8:48 pm Leave a comment

Last winter, I frequently made a casserole of mashed potatoes, fresh spinach, and cheddar cheese. It’s not a terribly healthy casserole, but it was great, easy comfort food on a cold day. I got the idea from a recipe I had found online – apparently it’s an Amish dish – but tweaked it. I basically took my BF’s recipe for mashed potatoes and added spinach and cheese to it. It was one of those things that I made so often (probably once a week at least) that I didn’t even write my recipe down, because I didn’t need to.

Unfortunately, at some point I stopped making it, and just realized I never got around to posting the recipe, so now I can’t remember exactly how I made it. Whoops! The basic idea is that you make regular mashed potatoes, but add fresh spinach before mashing them up, then bake it with a topping of cheddar cheese. I’m going to post this here for right now, before I forget any more! It’s a little too hot for a baked potato casserole lately, but I plan on making this again when it gets a bit cooler.

I think I also made a variation of this casserole where I mixed cheese into the potatoes and topped it with breadcrumbs instead, but the cheesy crust on top is soooo good that I decided to post this version. I have also made this with 2 onions’ worth of caramelized onions (cooked in butter) instead of spinach, which is very rich but very delicious.

Spinach Potato Casserole (approximate recipe)

Ingredients:
– 4-5 russet potatoes (or the equivalent amount of Yukon Golds)
– a bag of fresh spinach or baby spinach (8-9 oz?)
– shredded cheddar cheese (can’t remember how much, but I would estimate 4 oz)
– milk (I just eyeball it from the container when I make mashed potatoes)
– butter (probably 1-2 tbsp – again, I just eyeball this)
– salt and pepper, to taste

Tools:
– pot for boiling potatoes
– dish for baking casserole
– cutting board and knife
– potato masher
– potato peeler
– Colander

Directions:
1. Peel the potatoes and cut them into small pieces (1/4-1/2 inch is good). Cook them in boiling water for 15-25 minutes, or until they’re tender and ready to be mashed.
2. While potatoes are cooking, put the baby spinach in the colander. Once the potatoes are done, pour them into the colander over the spinach.
3. Put the spinach/potato mixture back in the pot, and mix well. Add a splash of milk and some butter. Use the potato masher to mash it to your desired texture, adding more milk as needed. Add salt and pepper to taste. Mix so that spinach is evenly distributed.
4. Grease the baking dish and put the potato/spinach mixture into it, smoothing it so it’s even. Top with a layer of cheddar cheese and bake until the cheese is starting to brown (I believe at 350 for 20-30 minutes).

Entry filed under: adaptations, casserole, cheese, potatoes, recipes, spinach, vegetarian.

Baguette & Burrata Rice and Lentils

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

This is a cooking blog by someone who is not particularly good at cooking. I'm a lazy person who aspires to make simple, awesome, healthy food at home.

Archives


