One-Pot Brown Rice and Black Beans

May 19, 2012 at 8:35 pm 3 comments

Every single time I go to Chipotle, I get a burrito bowl (or salad) with delicious black beans, rice, salsa, and guacamole, and think, “I could totally make this at home.” I decided to come up with an easy method for cooking brown rice and dried black beans together. I took some advice from various websites on how long it would take to cook each of the components (this is the only one I can still remember), and came up with this recipe.

It does require overnight soaking, but is the opposite of labor-intensive, as long as you watch the pot and make sure it doesn’t boil over. (It’s a great recipe to make while I’m doing homework, reading, or watching TV in the next room – you don’t want to leave the pot unattended for very long!)

This is great by itself, but I have been serving this with mozzarella cheese, prepackaged salsa, and Wholly Guacamole so we can make our own burrito bowls. I hope to transition to using fresh veggies instead, but it’s good even with the processed stuff.

One-Pot Rice and Beans

Ingredients:
2 cups dried black beans
2 cups brown rice, uncooked
4 cloves garlic
Salt
Black pepper (I do about 32 turns of the mill…)
Water (I use filtered water because my BF believes it tastes better and is better for your pots, but I’m sure tap water would be fine)

Materials:
– Pot large enough to cook everything together, with a lid
– Large bowl for soaking beans (keep in mind that they will get a lot bigger. I use my biggest glass mixing bowl)
– Garlic press
– Strainer or colander for beans (holes should be small enough that you won’t lose any)

Instructions:

1. The night before you want to have rice and beans, put the dried beans in your mixing bowl and cover them with water. There should be a few inches of water above the beans (I leave 2 or 3). Add some salt and mix well. Leave them to soak overnight (if I put them out around 9 or 10 PM, they’re fine for lunch the next day).

2. When you’re ready to cook, drain the beans in the strainer/colander and rinse them with tap water. Place the beans in your pot and cover them with water by about an inch. Add salt and pepper to taste.

3. Bring the beans and water to a boil. While it’s coming to a boil, peel your garlic and press it into the mixture. Once it comes to a boil, reduce heat and let them simmer, covered, for 45 minutes or until tender. Stir occasionally, and add more water if they get too dry.

4. When beans are tender, add rice and more water. Bring back to a simmer and cook, covered, for 45 more minutes or until rice is ready. (I usually have to add more water during this step as well, so check it occasionally.)

5. Let cool for at least 5 minutes, then add more salt/pepper if needed.

Entry filed under: black beans, one-dish, recipes, Uncategorized, vegan, vegetarian.

Vegan Ricotta-Style Lasagna Filling Tomato and Avocado Salsa

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Vanessa  |  May 20, 2012 at 2:01 am

    I love making Chipotle at home! This is a great time-saver – thanks for sharing it!

    Reply
  • 2. Tomato and Avocado Salsa « Audrey Makes Food!  |  May 25, 2012 at 5:27 pm

    […] I posted my recipe for rice and beans last week, I mentioned that I was hoping to start adding fresh veggies instead of prepackaged salsa […]

    Reply
  • 3. Rice and Lentils « Audrey Makes Food!  |  June 27, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    […] want to call it that anymore. (Kind of like when I found out the traditional Cuban name for rice and black beans means “Christians and […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

This is a cooking blog by someone who is not particularly good at cooking. I'm a lazy person who aspires to make simple, awesome, healthy food at home.

Archives


