Link: Easy One-Pot Mac & Cheese Recipe

January 21, 2012 at 9:16 pm 1 comment

I used to make this easy macaroni and cheese recipe all the time (it works great with whole-wheat pasta). Basically, you heat milk with some spices, cook raw macaroni slowly in the milk, and mix in some cheese (I like Colby Jack). The starches in the noodles thicken the milk, which means you get to skip the whole frying-flour-then-mixing-in-milk thing (a process that I can accomplish without issue maybe 40% of the time?). You can serve the mac&cheese immediately, or put it in a casserole dish, top with breadcrumbs, and bake for a few minutes. I get great compliments on this recipe; I think it’s the mustard powder that makes it so addictive. Most mac&cheese recipes use cayenne or hot sauce to add that little kick, but I like the flavor you get with mustard powder a lot more.

Two caveats:

1. In my experience, it takes MUCH less time (like 5 minutes) than the recipe says for the pasta to cook, so be sure to check it frequently. This recipe means that you don’t have quite as much control over pasta texture as you do with other recipes, but if you hate making white sauces like I do, then it’s definitely worth a shot.

2. Out of all the times I’ve made this, it has gone completely wrong TWICE, for reasons that I do not understand – I end up with a ton of leftover milk and overcooked pasta, despite following the exact same directions I always do. This might be a function of my electric stovetop making the milk too hot, but it seems unlikely, since I’m very careful to set it at the same temperature each time. So be VERY vigilant about the milk temperature if you’re going to make this.

Entry filed under: cheese, links, one-dish, pasta, recipes, Uncategorized.

Fauxsagna Baked Macaroni & Cheese with Peas

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

This is a cooking blog by someone who is not particularly good at cooking. I'm a lazy person who aspires to make simple, awesome, healthy food at home.

Archives


