Simple Pasta with Chevre, Spinach, and Tomatoes

September 1, 2011 at 11:02 pm 2 comments

My boyfriend and I are huge fans of The Grit in Athens, GA.  We eat there at least once a week, and some weeks we go there more often than we go to the grocery store. :) They recently had some mashed potatoes with goat cheese and rosemary, which were to die for, so the BF tried to make a similar recipe at home. Unfortunately, when directed to pick up goat cheese at the store, I bought an 11-oz log of chevre – and it turned out we only needed about 3 or 4 oz of it. So last week, I had to find ways to use up the extra goat cheese. (I know, I know – torture, right?)

I revisited the pasta recipe I made up that had spinach, tomatoes, and ricotta in it – but instead of ricotta, I just used between 4 and 5 oz of chevre (I’m not good at eyeballing measurements, sorry). It turned out GREAT – we actually liked it better than the ricotta version. And, less cheese = less fat and calories! I left out the garlic  (because I forgot, but it was fine without it) and used rigatoni, which turned out really well.  Also, instead of grape/cherry tomatoes, I was lucky enough to find some local organic baby Roma tomatoes at the grocery store that week, and they were unbelievably good.

So why did I make a whole new post? I had considered just adding chevre as an option to the first recipe – but then I thought, who wants to read a single recipe with a billion variations on it? Am I going to have to re-edit the post every time I make a different version and want to share it? So, I’m going to repost it with the changes we made. I’m hoping that will make it easier for others to follow.

(For yet another variation on this recipe, see this post.)

Simple Pasta with Chevre, Spinach, & Tomatoes

Ingredients:
– 1/2 pound short pasta (I used whole wheat rigatoni from Earth Fare)
– just under 1 pint grape or cherry tomatoes (We found that 1 pint is just a bit too much, so I saved a few to use in salads and used the majority for this recipe.)
– 6 oz baby spinach
– 4-5 oz. chevre (I crumbled mine up, but I’m not sure this was necessary)
– salt and pepper

Supplies:
 – pot for cooking pasta in
– colander
– cutting board & knife

Instructions:
1) Fill the pot with water and set it to boil.
2) While water comes to a boil, slice all of the tomatoes in half (or thirds, or quarters). Put the tomatoes and spinach in the colander and place it in the sink, over the drain (or wherever you would normally drain your pasta).
3) When water is boiling, cook pasta according to package directions/taste.
4) When pasta is ready, pour it carefully into the colander. The spinach will wilt slightly. Let it sit for a minute or two and shake as much water out as you can.
5) Pour everything from the colander back into the pot. Stir it so it’s well mixed and the spinach is evenly distributed.
6) Add the chevre to the pasta mixture and stir so it’s evenly coated. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Entry filed under: cheese, goat cheese, one-dish, pasta, recipes, spinach, tomatoes, variations, vegetarian.

Simple Pasta with Ricotta, Spinach, & Tomatoes Simple Pasta with Spinach, Tomatoes, and Fresh Mozzarella

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


About

This is a cooking blog by someone who is not particularly good at cooking. I'm a lazy person who aspires to make simple, awesome, healthy food at home.

Archives


